MMT1 Part 5, Sample 2

This post has been updated to present a better quality photo of the sample.  2nd July 2017.

I was interested to see if my (few) experiments with stitching onto leaves during Parts 1 and 2, 9th March 2016 could be incorporated with my experiments in stitching into plaster.

ex 1 joining_10 leaves
Various ways of joining leaf material

I gathered some fresh material from a local footpath (thrown over a garden fence, always a good source of material!).  I think these are some kind of bamboo leaf, similar to the ones used before.  They were stitched together with variegated machine-sewing cotton (fine but strong).  A small tile was made using an plastic carton lid as a mold, and holes drilled into it with an emerging fern frond pattern.  Leaf and tile were stitched together with the same cotton.

plasterstitch leaves3USE

I would like to do more of this but the little devil on my shoulder is saying, “well, it’s pretty and rustic, but what’s the point apart from that – you aren’t supposed to just do ‘pretty’, there has to be a concept involving Research and Reflection!”.   I don’t know how to reply to that, apart from believing the research and reflection elements come after you have made something, when you understand that your work has been influenced by various sources.

2 thoughts on “MMT1 Part 5, Sample 2

  1. I can’t remember reading the blog entry about sewing leaves back in March last year, but for an upcoming installation project, sewing leaves together is one idea I have in mind … your influence? It’s good to see more of it.

    Like

  2. Excellent, I’m glad to be of help! One thing I’ve found – choose your leaves carefully; those species which stay intact or which are already dry are best (unless disintegration is part of the artwork). Mind you, I haven’t tried sewing together dried leaves yet… This installation project sounds interesting, I’d love to know more becuse using natural objects isn’t something I have associated with your work (I’ve been too fascinated with your lovely architectural drawings).

    Like

Leave a Reply

