Thursday March 10th. More baseball stitch. 

 

sample 6″ x 4″, embroidery cotton on heavy Vilene coloured with Sharpie pens and Derwent Inktense blocks

This is an attempt at joining curved edges using the baseball stitch learned this week. It’s getting easier with practice, but now I must try to butt the edges right up together while I sew, because even a minute deviation prevents the finished piece from lying flat.  Next thing to try would be a small 3D sample. I’m very pleased with the blue against the orange, crimson and dark blue colours. However some of the ink rubbed off on my fingers a little, affecting the vibrancy of the thread.  I need to keep a small bowl of water and a flannel handy while I work!

Leave a Reply

